Veganism

15 Jan

So… it was around this time 2 years ago that I made the decision to become vegan. I was headed that way for awhile giving up milk, then eggs, then cheese and finally all foods containing animal products.

It’s a huge part of who I am and I’m still really proud to be vegan.

I truely believe that it is the right thing to do, not just for the animals but also for the environment and myself. Since becoming vegetarian/vegan I barely ever get sick. Before this every winter when the common cold would be spreading I would catch it at least twice and it would stay for weeks. Now I get sick maybe once a year and it lasts about 2 days then goes.

When I watch peta documentaries and saw Earthlings I was so glad that all the harm animals are put through was not because of me.

 I also feel much healthier and have really gotten into cooking new dinners, experimenting in the kitchen and going out to amazing vegan restaurants.

It’s funny because I remember eating meat everyday and thinking ‘I could never be vegetarian, I love meat too much’. But I don’t miss it at all and am so glad I opened up my mind to see things from another angle.

It was hard at times while travelling Europe over the year I spent there but I managed and also found some great vegan places to eat at along the way. While living in London I got involved in protesting. It was a good way to spend the night handing out leaftlets informing others out the front of mcdonalds and harrods and I was surprised at the number of positive responses I/we received. Actually this is something I would like to continue to do here in Melbourne, although I don’t think it would be as organised here.

I still get hasseled by people asking things like ‘where do you get protein do you take supplements, are you anemic, why don’t you eat honey, etc. etc. but what can you do.

I also still get paranoid/overly suspicious when ordering food/beverages from places that aren’t 100% vegan but I think that’s just a weird trust issue I have.

I don’t think anyone even reads this but if you do please watch Earthlings and see things from another point of view. (this is part 1, there are 10 parts all on Youtube)

Leave a Reply

