June 7th 2008

20 Aug

This is a night I will never forget.

I was 19, had been in England for just over 1 week after moving to London on my own. This week was mostly spent being confused by the Underground, walking in the wrong direction, being pretty siked to be away from everything/everyone I know and honestly being pretty scared about the future.

And after a week of being alone and feeling so completely lost going to places I had never been before everyday I walked into 12 bar for a show and felt like I was home.

It felt so amazing to be on the other side of the world and be surrounded by a bunch of strangers who had something in common with me. It was also great to be exposed to new music and see how other people behave at shows.

Throats blew me away, check them out: www.myspace.com/throatsofgold  

The thing is in Melbourne I’m usually hating this scene, where everyone knows each other, seems to care what everyone else thinks of them, people go out to shitty nightclubs to dance to Lady Gaga or pick up chicks, and people go to shows without even listening to the bands because their to busy climbing a social ladder.

If I like a band I’ll jump in my car and drive to see them, I don’t care how much it is, who else is going or what there is to do afterwards.

 Why don’t people realise that Melbourne is a very small city compared to the rest of the world and out there no one cares what band you’re in, who your ex is, how many people you’ve slept with, how short your dress is or how many tattoos you have.

I have avoided quite a few events in the last year because of this reason but not any more. Even though it pains me to be surrounded by this shit, Hardcore is one of the few things that makes me happy and I won’t be missing any of it because of you.

Leave a Reply

