Our Great War’s a spiritual war… Our Great Depression is our lives

11 Sep

I hate to do this but the truth is I’ve never lost anyone important in my life and so far I’ve been pretty blessed with many opportunities to lead a successful and happy life.

So I may not have felt the pain of loss and suffered through a hard unfair life but I know what it feels like when everything means nothing.

To just sleepwalk through life.

Everyday nothing memorable happens, I never said hi to the guy I had a crush on, never mended a friendship, never said I wanted you here beside me and I don’t think it would improve things even if I did.

I just don’t want to feel dead anymore.

 I don’t want to waste my time on people that let me down every time.

I’m sick of waiting for things to get better.

I need to escape.

I want to wake up in the morning and smile.

____________________________________________

Existence, well what does it matter.
I exist on the best terms I can.
The past is now part of my future.
The present is well out of hand.

One Response to “Our Great War’s a spiritual war… Our Great Depression is our lives”

  1. Sean November 2, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    After doing a google search for Great Gatsby tattoos (I’m contemplating a tattoo of the book cover), I came across your blog instead.

    I can relate to your passion. I was born and raised in Hawaii and I experienced a similar need to escape. Thankfully I did, and you will too.

    I visited Melbourne a couple of years ago for a holiday and enjoyed it so much that I fantasize about one day living there. It’s interesting that one person’s ‘hell’ is another person’s dream. I also dream about the English Countryside.

    You’re right; this is a spiritual war. In the 18th century it was skepticism that plagued young hearts like ours, this time its material secularism that has made the world’s heart discontent and sick. People are then forced to turn to themselves and to forge out meaning within there own personal world. Within the spiritual war being waged, never has it been so hard to connect with people, never has it been so vital to have a partner by your side.

Leave a Reply

