Leipzig 14th April 2015

12 May

On the 14th of April 2015 I travelled to Leipzig, Germany to see Modern Life Is War play a show. I left Berlin early in the morning so I had time to explore the city during the day.
The city definitely has a good vibe and feels like a smaller Berlin. I had no idea it would be such a big city considering when I purchased my ticket to this show in November last year I had never heard of Leipzig. The city was easy to walk, very pretty and for me it was nice to get out of Berlin as I’d been here since November last year.

Getting to the venue Conne Island was fairly easy and I had a really nice walk in an outer city neighbourhood. It was nice to see large traditional German houses with yards surrounded by big trees. Connie Island is the perfect venue! Before the show people were just hanging out skateboarding, shooting hoops, drinking beers, grilling and just having a good time. It was a very welcoming venue and I understood why MLIW decided to play there rather than Berlin.

Just before MLIW came out to play my excitement was the highest it’s been in a long time. This is easily one of my favorite bands, which every song means so much to me and I never thought I would get to see them play. It felt like I had been waiting my whole life for that moment and I am so lucky to be living in Europe and get to see them play. The energy in that room and the tight performance that the band gave was incredible. It’s a night I will never forget ❀

After the show I got to shake hands with Jeff and tell him how amazing the show was. I hope he felt my appreciation for his words and what this band means to me. My journey home was in a smallish car with 3 German dudes who were complete strangers to me. We were doing 150 km per hour or so on the Autobahn heading for Berlin well after midnight and I sort of made new friends with them πŸ™‚

These Dreams Will Be My Anchor, These Dreams Will Be The Death Of Me.

IMG_5574 IMG_5575 IMG_5580 IMG_5585

Bagel and cookie from Veganz.

Bagel and cookie from Veganz.

IMG_5594 IMG_5602

Connie Island skatepark.

Connie Island skatepark.

People hanging before the show.

People hanging before the show.

ci

Leave a Reply

